Review

Avanan Email Security

4.5
(12 Reviews) Write a Review
Avanan Email Security

Snapshot

Avanan catches the attacks that default and advanced security tools miss, with an invisible layer of security for cloud-based collaboration suites.

For

Any organization using cloud-hosted email (Office 365 or G Suite)

What is Avanan?

Avanan is a cloud email security platform that pioneered and patented a new approach to prevent sophisticated attacks. We use APIs to block phishing, malware, and data leakage in the line of communications traffic. This means we catch threats missed by Microsoft while adding a transparent layer of security for the entire suite that also protects other collaboration tools like Slack.

We’ve been recognized as the top-rated cloud email security solution and can replace the need for multiple tools that surround email and file-sharing.

Features

  • Anti-Phishing
  • Malware Protection
  • Account Takeover Detection
  • Data Loss Prevention
  • SIEM Integration
Get a Quote

Profile: Avanan Email Security

Category:
Email Security Gateway
Vendor:
Avanan
Website:
avanan.com
Founded:
2014
HQ:
New York, NY
Deployment:
Cloud Via API
Starting Price:
From $4 user / month
Suitable For:
Any organization using cloud-hosted email (Office 365 or G Suite).

Work for Avanan?

Update This Profile

User Reviews

IT Manager

Existing Customer

Manufacturing, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

Jan 7, 2020

5.0

"It took Avanan to change the industry"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Simplicity. Why would you want to manually manage email security all day long or even create rules and policies or add complexity to your environment when a solution like Avanan Email Security does it for you.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Very minor issues if any.

Describe your over overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Overall experience compared to what? The implementation took seconds versus weeks from my prior solution provider. The maintenance in non-existent versus other solutions which my team lived-inside. This is the closest I have seen to "set and forget". The support is very good and quick to respond.

Systems Engineer

Existing Customer

Non-Profit, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Jan 6, 2020

5.0

"Avanan: The solution we wanted"

What did you like best when using this solution?

What is not to like. It blocks spam. It blocks phishing. It helps with DLP. It just does everything we were looking for in software.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Lack of being able to put a custom graphic in end-user notifications.

Describe your over overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Nothing but praises. If you need help controlling security, Avanan is there to help.

Enterprise Systems Manager

Existing Customer

Not For Profit, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Dec 31, 2019

4.5

"Exceptionally simple setup, great features and quick ROI"

What did you like best when using this solution?

The setup was quick (less than 15 minutes to fully integrate), the user interface is simple and intuitive. We immediately began seeing a huge reduction in spam and malware reaching our users. The built in notification processes and templates are simple to understand and customize making the platform adoption quick and easy for both admins and staff.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

I'd like to see better tracking, reporting and history for items acted on within the platform. For example, requests to release quarantined items that may have been picked up as a false positive is simple and quick. However, I cant readily see the history of those actions once performed. This is especially important when you have more than one admin working in the polatform. On occasion, I've gone to respond to a release request and one of my colleagues has beat me too it. But I cant readily see that history to determine details. FWIW, this is a problem because the platform is so easy. All admins are ready and willing to respond to Avanan requests because they've simple. But, improving the action trail would move the service from an A to an A+.

Describe your over overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Overall:
1- One of the simplest and fastest implementations in over 15 years of integrating new services. And the subscription model (pricing) is clear and simple to understand. No hidden costs or gotchas.
2- Highly effective, (a 9 out of 10) at reducing threats to the inbox immedaitely.
3- Staff can understand notifications regarding threats. This has not only improved acceptance and adoption but is helping drive security awareness.

CIO

Existing Customer

Higher Ed, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

Dec 18, 2019

5.0

"Avanan"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Avanan has reduced the flow of spam phishing emails to our campus greatly. At the high point we were getting hundreds hourly. Now we see very few get through. I love the reporting they offer also. It helps us the review our security.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

We have no issues with this product.

Describe your over overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

This product has more than met our need to stop the flow of phishing emails.

Systems Administrator

Existing Customer

Market Research, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

Dec 17, 2019

5.0

"Easy to set up and seamless to use."

What did you like best when using this solution?

Easy to set up.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

It takes a bit of time to quarantine emails manually.

Describe your over overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Avanan solved my companies email security needs, and it was very easy to integrate.

Cybersecurity Analyst

Existing Customer

Media, 500-1,000 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

Dec 17, 2019

5.0

"Avanan is a great Tool to protect you of phishing, easy to uses, and always improving features"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Friendly interfaces, and easy to uses.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Sometimes I want to access the solution from my mobile, and the interface do not fit in the screen.

Describe your over overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

We saw several solutions in the market with high costs. We gave the opportunity to Avanan having a lower cost. It has filled our expectations.

IT Technician

Existing Customer

Plastics, 25-100 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

Dec 17, 2019

5.0

"Avanan: Best in Class Customer Service, Products, and Features"

What did you like best when using this solution?

The program installed pretty much instantly with zero interference to our Office 365 Environment. The program itself is very robust and has a lot of cool features and they continue to add more as each update comes out. It has a very clean and intuitive user interface and it very easy to pick up on everything after your initial training session. There is also a level of customization to the menus and to the interfaces.

When creating custom queries there are hundreds of options and it will take time and practice to learn them all. However, you can submit any question to the customer support team, and they will answer anything you throw at them and help you understand.

I also like that it is API based. It works in conjunction with the standard office 365 security features, instead of replacing them and rendering them useless, like the other popular solutions on the market. This makes for a faster and more efficient experience in my opinion and from what I have seen.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

I honestly can't think of any major dislikes or complaints. Any time I have had any issues or questions, I have been able to get it resolved or I have been able to get an answer form the support team.

It simply does what I need it to do and that's enough for me.

Describe your over overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Before Avanan, we had no additional security for our Office 365 environment. Avanan was an option that was easily implemented and immediately started producing results with phishing and malware hits. The amount of stuff that Avanan has caught for us makes me wonder how much stuff was getting through before with the standard O365 protection and ATP. The major benefit to us as a company was protecting us from phishing, malware, or ransomware threats. This allows us to keep our business continuity without interruption.

Sr Virtualization Engineer

MSP

IT MSP, 250-500 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

Dec 17, 2019

4.5

"Avanan Highly Recommended"

What did you like best when using this solution?

The modular "a la carte" design and ability to choose between multiple security vendors to suit the organization's needs while providing an effective security layer to one of the largest attack vectors today - email.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

The web gui is not very intuitive and can be a little tricky to navigate at times.

Describe your over overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

We've had great success using Avanan as one of our security layers for email. The fact that Avanan sits behind Microsoft ATP as the last filter is great as it gives us capabilities that other security solutions can't offer. We've also found that ATP doesn't capture everything, and it's great to increase our security posture by layering different solutions to work in tadem, and Avanan is a great addition.

IT Support Specialist

Existing Customer

Architecture, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Dec 17, 2019

4.0

"Great insights and security"

What did you like best when using this solution?

A security blanket that lets you trace threats and pin point areas of security that needs to be beefed up.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Search queries could be easier to uses as well as treat tracing.

Describe your over overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Avanan has been a great asset to our email security. It has eliminated a lot of DLP and exposed security issues.

IT Support

Existing Customer

Architecture and Planning, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Dec 17, 2019

5.0

"The best user interface."

What did you like best when using this solution?

The interface functions are fantastic. This makes drilling down issues a breeze. The map function is incredibly useful. Overall a perfect portal. This makes finding suspicious activity very easy. I love that we can make the phishing attacks come up as a whole and drill down to why we are being targeted. We can then take action before we get to a place of harm for our systems.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

There is really not much I dislike. Everything works just as I could imagine. The quarantine function would be helpful but that is not a part of our portal at the moment. When we get to the place for integration we will then make that happen but for now everything is fantastic.

Describe your over overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

We have a clear portal to see where our users are logging in. This makes finding suspicious activity very easy. Drilling down phishing attacks is the most important part of our security. As well as finding where are users are logging in and seeing suspicious activity.

Helpdesk & Systems Tech

Existing Customer

Media, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Dec 17, 2019

5.0

"An effective way to combat DLP, phishing, and other malicious email"

What did you like best when using this solution?

It was very easy to setup and we were given great support when setting it up. Avanan has been a great solution in preventing our users from getting phishing, malware, and other malicious types of email.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

I think there are some sorting options that could use some refining, and I wasn't always pleased with the usage of whitelisting and blacklisting options.

Describe your over overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Our users have reported a drastic decrease in the number of suspicious and malicious emails that have reached their inboxes. It was so effective that at least one user was concerned how empty their Junk folder was. It has also largely been a service that doesn't require a lot of tinkering or attention to get the job done, which is ideal for our small IT team.

Systems Engineer

Existing Customer

Non-Profit, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Dec 17, 2019

5.0

"Avanan is awesome!"

What did you like best when using this solution?

From the simplicity of setup to the ease of implementation, to the acceptance of end-users couldn't have been easier. The product just works.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

It will take 3-5 minutes for emails to be processed from external sources during busy times of the day.

Describe your over overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

This product solved more than we expected. The ease of the interface has made the transition for administrators very easy.